# Read-only mode In certain situations, Vertex graphs can be opened in read-only mode. In read-only mode, the following restrictions are applied: * New objects cannot be added to the graph (including via Search Around). * Graph nodes cannot be re-arranged (whether by drag-and-drop or other methods). * The toolbar at the top of the page is hidden. ## When are Vertex graphs opened in read-only mode? Below is a non-exhaustive list of the situations where a graph is opened in read-only mode. * When a graph is embedded in Workshop and the read-only mode setting is explicitly enabled in the [widget configuration](../embed-graph-workshop/index.md#configure-the-widget). * When a graph is opened in [Carbon](../../carbon/overview/index.md). * When a graph is embedded in [Notepad](../../notepad/widgets-vertex-graph/index.md).