# Installations in Foundry Marketplace Once you have begun a product installation, you can monitor your installation job. The screenshot below shows the installation job view of Marketplace. ![Marketplace installation job view](../../../assets/b3ab7ca1e8b296787694f45585a8b6529046788499f1b88a01eadef10da403ba.webp) Select **View installation** in the top right to see your completed installation. From here, you can navigate to your installed resources to begin using them. The project or folder location where your resources are saved is linked in the right panel. The screenshot below shows a completed product installation in Marketplace. ![Marketplace installation job view showing a completed installation](../../../assets/f650923fb4a1da0c6a319141891088796ac245a14fb2b3e0b0df39d5b10fd85b.webp) ## Installation settings After installation, you can configure a number of options for an installation from the **Settings** panel. * **Release channel:** Set the release channel you want your installation to track. New versions that are tagged with that release channel will be surfaced as new versions available for upgrade. See [Upgrades](../upgrades/index.md) for more information. * **Automatic upgrades:** Enable automatic upgrades for new product versions; see [Automatic upgrades](../upgrades/index.md#automatic-upgrades-beta) for more information. * **Maintenance windows:** This setting allows you to control the timing of upgrades; for instance, you can set upgrades to occur as soon as they are available, or to take place during a specified period of time (the maintenance window). * **Lock or unlock your installation:** Locking an installation prevents edits to downstream content. Keep your installation locked if you want to guarantee safe upgrades; you can unlock your installation to fork the content you installed. See [Project locking](#project-locking) for more information. The screenshot below shows the **Settings** panel of Marketplace's installation view. From here, the automatic upgrades configuration can be set and the installation can be locked or unlocked to allow edits to the installed content. ![installation settings](../../../assets/9f85445f839a3563195cd24d85ffd0bee9f9b5c2810ebe236bb678c1daf607f3.webp) ### Known limitations For some resource types, unlocking an installation may not allow edits to the installed resources; for example, **Code Repositories** must be packaged with the source code to be editable in an installation. ## Project locking Locking a project prevents users from editing installed resources directly. This is recommended for **[Production mode](../../foundry-devops/create-products/index.md#installation-mode)** installations to ensure safe upgrades, as edits to installed content will be overwritten when a new product version is applied. You can lock a project during installation from the **[Create installation job](../install-product/index.md#create-an-installation-job)** dialog, or after installation from the **Settings** page of the installation. On the **Settings** page, the **Project permissions** section shows the current lock status of the project. Select **Lock down** to lock an unlocked project. ![The Settings page of an installation showing the Project permissions section with the Lock down button.](../../../assets/2ef48089fd6f8830298c070c97aad51691f17f177ae7f71146ea90d9b21e2d09.webp) When a project is locked: * Users cannot edit resources within the project directly. * Marketplace can still apply changes during upgrades. * The default lock behavior depends on the [installation mode](../../foundry-devops/create-products/index.md#installation-mode) specified by the product builder. ### Unlock a project To unlock a locked project, navigate to the **Settings** page of the installation and select **Unlock** in the **Project permissions** section. Alternatively, you can unlock the project from Compass. Navigate to the project, open the **Access** panel, select the **Settings** tab, and under **Advanced** select **Unlock**. ![The Compass project settings showing the Unlock option under Advanced.](../../../assets/c23b2f5a677f5f5bc8d9ff9f3485f43e1282c7485fcc7e44dfedeb3c036cc56e.webp) Once unlocked, users can edit the project's resources, but edits will be overwritten by Marketplace during upgrades. ## Upgrades For information on automatic upgrades, manual upgrades, and downgrades, review our [documentation](../upgrades/index.md). ## Delete installations To delete an installation along with all its resources, start by selecting the ellipsis (**...**) in the upper-right corner of the installation page. Next, choose **Delete installation permanently**, as shown in the screenshot below. ![Screenshot showing delete installation button](../../../assets/efb795c4453a9dd119333027d098831400bb0df88dd8fa9450691d71e88eb281.webp) Selecting **Delete installation permanently** will show a preview of the resources that will be permanently deleted if you proceed. If you do not want to delete these resources, clear the **Outputs** checkbox. If you want to keep only some of these resources, [detach](#detach-outputs) them first instead. ![Screenshot showing uninstallation preview](../../../assets/8e973462d905b1de529ad51fa4e98e870428c5391f5583f4c28e582b6b65fdb2.webp) Next, type `delete installation` in the confirmation text box and select **Delete** to initiate the uninstallation process. :::callout{theme="danger"} Deleting an installation is *irreversible*. The deletion process will *permanently* delete the installation, as well as all resources across all installation versions if the **Outputs** checkbox is checked. If the installation project or folder only contains resources that belong to the installation selected for deletion, the process will also permanently delete the installation project or folder. Otherwise, the deletion of the project or folder will be skipped. ::: If uninstallation is successful, you will be redirected to the installations page. If uninstallation fails, you will receive an error message, as shown below: ![Screenshot showing uninstallation errors](../../../assets/f61e3cfcfa08a4e41f6272b81616a0e546a046a86dceb16fceadc31ccffc2df2.webp) The error message will list the resources that failed to be deleted and the reasons for the failure, as well as the resources that were successfully deleted. You can choose to resolve issues with failed resources before retrying uninstallation, or you can tick the box acknowledging that failed content will persist and select the **Force delete** button. This will ignore failed resources and delete the installation. The installation project or folder will also be deleted, provided that the project or folder does not contain any other resources that do not belong to the given installation. ## Detach outputs Detaching [outputs](../install-product/index.md#outputs) forces the installation to create new outputs instead of reusing the detached resources. [Deleting the installation](#delete-installations) will not delete any detached outputs. Detaching outputs separates them from Marketplace; detached outputs will no longer be connected to Marketplace in any way. If the detached output was attached to an installation, upgrading that installation will create a new output instead of overwriting the detached output. You can detach outputs from two places. Both work the same way. ### Where to detach outputs On the installations page, you can detach multiple outputs at once by enabling detach mode and selecting the outputs to detach. ![Screenshot showing the detach option in the installation page.](../../../assets/080f0f3c51d901a4088ee3f80a6c78b8f3399bc59ed7a160696b71f92b6783d5.webp) In an installation draft, you can also detach multiple outputs at a time from the **Outputs** tab. ![Screenshot showing the detach option in an installation draft.](../../../assets/3ac19f287fdc7335ae46abcae5ecf09012bd4ca81ee2ec73874d811d85f995fa.webp) ### Detach an output After selecting the outputs to detach, select **Detach**. A dialog opens listing the outputs to be detached. ![Screenshot showing the detach confirmation dialog listing the outputs to be detached.](../../../assets/1387cdd28eb243a666200e50d1fc840b11e834c7d4749b02316db2cb0e5238be.webp) Next, type `detach output` in the confirmation text box and select **Detach** to initiate the detach process. :::callout{theme="danger"} Detaching an output is *irreversible*. Detach will *permanently* separate resources from Marketplace. Take care when detaching a production resource that you want Marketplace to continue managing. ::: Once the outputs have been successfully detached, you can trash, move, or keep the outputs in their existing location. Some outputs might not support trashing or moving, for example, if you lack the required permissions. ![Screenshot showing the options to trash, move, or keep the detached outputs.](../../../assets/f364b658a8a436e24ee2ffda81648cbae66d6091b63b4357cdc629f72a0dd8d3.webp)