# Email suppression management Suppression management improves the explainability of email sending failures. As described in the [overview](../overview/index.md), email sending may fail for a variety of reasons. When these failures are repeated (for example, when the recipient's email server is unavailable), either the platform or the underlying email provider could create a "suppression", a mechanism by which the platform stops sending email to a user until the suppression expires or is manually deleted. Suppressions caused by a `BOUNCE` will be automatically deleted after 14 days, while suppressions caused by user `COMPLAINT` will require manual intervention to delete. We do not recommend deleting suppressions caused by a `COMPLAINT` without explicit consent from the recipient. Doing so could affect your email sending reputation and negatively impact your email deliverability.