# View version history Workspace version history allows you to preview, optionally make edits, and republish previous workspace versions. This enables you to quickly return to a known working configuration if a workspace configuration update leads to errors. ## Versions dialog The versions dialog is where version metadata may be viewed, with the option to select a row to set a version to preview. ![Versions dialog](../../../assets/c927b5cac9ebf0a73ed0deece48f3d9ee15eb8427a0866cf157ef0ea1b54e8b8.webp) ## Version button The versions dialog can be launched by selecting the **Version** button, located at the top of the configuration editor. The version number of the version you are currently editing is shown as the text in this button. ![Version button](../../../assets/e53c09d8c16f41a98aee64980da27888782860419efb183502d669f7ad06dc3c.webp) ### Unsaved edits indicator An asterisk (**\***) will appear after the version number if there are unsaved edits. ![Version button with edits](../../../assets/1de60c5da32bac44cda471db4b622cce3694a87d8e48216134177d0322ebe080.webp) ### Previewing version A **Previewing** tag is displayed next to the versions button when a version is selected from the versions dialog. ![Version button with edits](../../../assets/5ada76b36da17a03d2eabff47a11e80f4f21c106cdf10d7787b7d063e372abb8.webp)